6 months since my last update? What the heck am I doing?

Hello, hello! I hope you are well and enjoying this most festive of weeks. It has been a long time since I’ve posted anything to this blog (busy busy, you see) so here’s a whole bunch of links to the work I have done elsewhere on teh interwebz:

Video game story review things

A couple of months ago I was invited by the thoroughly decent man o’ words Emmet O’Cuana to write a couple of guest articles over on his website The Momus Report. So instead of talking about books or comics (or anything I’m experienced in or trained to do) I decided to review two PC games and – being the pretentious sod that I am – I thought the best way to do this would be in the style of prose fiction…

Going Home… To A Place called Black Mesa

Thank You For The DayZ (with audio sections read by Emmet)

Still rockin’ dem camix

Meanwhile, elsewhere on the web… Bastards! Comic Bastards!

For quite a while now I’ve been writing regular reviews alongside other members of the CB team, generally covering individual issues of monthly comics but also looking at full length graphic novels. I also pop up with occasional editorial features (like my thoughts on Marvel’s huge post-movie relaunch or my top five indie/alternative superheroes) and contributed to our end-of-year highs and lows roundup.

Here’s some of my personal highlights from the many reviews I’ve written over the last half-year since I joined CB:

Wild Children (hallucinogenic meta-fiction with gun-toting teenagers)

The Black Beetle #0 (a modern homage to classic pulp comics)

The Manhattan Projects #5 (a darkly comedic alt-history/sci-fi)

Multiple Warheads: Alphabet to Infinity #1 (eccentric, charming sci-fi/fantasy)

The Zaucer of Zilk #1 (psychedelic pop madness with a strong moral core)

Nonhumans #1 (a dark distopian post-human future)

Chew: Secret Agent Poyo (hyperactive action/comedy)

Change #1 (a surreal genre mash-up drawing upon Lovecraftian ideas)

Kuzimu (horror fantasy inspired by west-African tribal mythology)

Classic Popeye #1 (republished Popeye comics from the 1940s)

You can also click here for a full list of my CB work.

As you can probably imagine, all of this writing for Comic Bastards has led to me reading far more funny-books than I could ever hope to afford otherwise, so I’m looking forward to being spoilt for reading choices throughout 2013. If you’re at all interested in comics and graphic novels (hey there Walking Dead fans) then I urge you to check out the site – we’re all dedicated fans of the medium and we would love to point you in the direction of the best it has to offer.

Well then, I suppose that will have to do for now. Thank you for reading (you’re awesome) and I wish you the happiest of new years!

Leave a Reply

