Opening SVK…

Warren Ellis and D’Israeli’s new, mail-order exclusive and somewhat experimental comic SVK (published by BERG) arrived on my desk this morning; so before I get round to reading and reviewing it here’s a quick look at what all the fuss is about:

The outermost layer (I'm not sure why I'm showing you this).

SVK in its glossy sleeve.

The super cool sticker I was very careful not to tear.

SVK and the sleek SVK device (a UV torch if you didn't already know).

William Gibson has provided a foreword.

The back of the SVK Device comes with a warning.

There it is: all open and stuff.

More!

The back cover.

It looks good. I like the use of a single shade of blue in with the black and white inkwork (which reminds me of Seth’s Its a good life, if you don’t weaken) and the super-special UV ink showed up well when I shone the torch over it. There were a few complaints on twitter about the UV ink bleeding through some pages but I’ve seen no evidence of that yet*. Originally I wanted to show you a picture of the UV torch in action but unfortunately I can’t get my camera to show it, so my apologies to any of you who wanted to see what it looks like.

Review to follow…

___________________________________________________________________________________

*Edit: I read through and can confirm that the invisible ink will show up faintly when an individual page is held up and the ‘SVK device’ is directed at it. This is a fairly minor issue as you probably aren’t likely to do this too often while you read and shouldn’t have a significant impact on the reading experience. To be frank: seeing ink through the page is a fairly inevitable consequence of shining a UV torch on to sheets of paper.

One response to “Opening SVK…

  1. Pingback: The SVK Experiment | self-indulgent drivel

Leave a Reply

